Midnight Strikes…

Midnight strikes…
An unexpected visitor demands my attention…
This stranger explodes violently…
So closely I feel her evil quaking within…
I immediately slam the door…

Back into my darkness I stagger…
Searching for answers I wonder…
What was that?
Where in hell did she come from?!!!
Why did she break into my home???!!!

Time passes…
My eyes adjust to the tension I feel…
I cautiously peer into the night…
Straining to recognize the unwanted guest…..
That she…
Was actually me…

I shamefully draw closer…
To the demon hidden inside…
Years of anger and fear…
Cage me on every side…

Now even as I try…
She is too far away to hold…
Compassionately I welcome her..
To return once more…

Today I long to get know her…
To invite her to a meal…
Listen closely to her story…
I wonder if this grace…
Will allow her to finally bleed…

I know it will be messy…
Painful and undone…
Still my hope is for a future…
Love takes two before it’s one…

No more strangers on this journey…
No more prisons of my making…
Simply live into the present…
Welcoming each and every one…

Leave a Reply

